HIST/HNRS: for Dr. Rushing's Students: Databases

Access to journals from the Arts & Sciences I Collection, and the Language & Literature Collection. These collections span a variety of subjects in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences.

Academic journals with subjects such business, humanities, social science, science, technology, and medicine. Published volumes up through 2017.

Access to science, social sciences, and arts and humanities citation indexes. This includes journal articles, conference proceedings and books.

Theses and dissertations from around the world covering all areas of study.

Encyclopedia with information about men, women, and events from the ancient world to the present in all areas of achievement.

Articles and images from the 1857-1912 Harper's Weekly magazine covering the Civil War through the Gilded Age periods of American history.

Open source collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The standard source for quantitative facts of American history containing thirty years of data and scholarship. Topics range from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Each topic is placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

Digitized maps of historical geographic locations and structures in Illinois. Maps of most towns and cities in Illinois and contain information such as the outline of each building, street names, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.

Essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. Includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Includes hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery, word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, modern histories of slavery, and all modern law review articles on the subject.