Hosted by the University of Illinois, these historic newspaper collections are free to search, free to browse, and free to download. The collections include 228,323 issues from 213 newspapers all over the state of Illinois. Browse by county, date, or newspaper.
The liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime was one of the major political developments of the 20th century, with far-reaching consequences for people throughout Africa and around the globe. This collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
World Heritage Sites: Africa links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for museums, libraries, NGOs, and government organizations that manage or oversee cultural heritage sites, as well as for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of such sites.
The Library of Congress Digital Collections comprises a vast array of digitized materials, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, sound recordings, and more. These collections showcase the rich cultural heritage and historical significance of the United States, providing valuable resources for researchers, educators, and the general public.
This collection contains cultural heritage materials gathered during the World Digital Library project, including thousands of items contributed by partner organizations worldwide as well as content from Library of Congress collections. All item records include narrative descriptions submitted by the contributing partners and enhanced by WDL researchers to contextualize the item and its cultural and historical importance. Books, manuscripts, maps, and other primary materials in the WDL collection are presented in their original languages; more than 100 languages are represented, including many lesser-known and endangered languages.