Skip to main content
Library

Bioinformatics: Metabolite - Databases

What are metabolites?

A metabolite is the intermediate end product of metabolism. The term metabolite is usually restricted to small molecules.

Human Metabolome Database

The Human Metabolome Database is a collection of information on small molecule metabolites found in the human body. Containing over 100,000 entries the database provides chemical, biological, and medicinally relevant information.  

Link: http://www.hmdb.ca/

Operating Institution(s): Canadian Institutes of Health ResearchCanadian Foundation for InnovationThe Metabolomics Innovation Centre

Supporting Institution(s): Genome CanadaGenome AlbertaGenome British Columbia 

Video Tutorials:

Serum Metabolome Database

The Serum Metablomic Database is a collection of over 4,500 small molecules found in human serum. Each metabolite entry has data on the nature of the compound along with its chemical properties, biological locations and activity, identification methods, and experimentally determined concentrations in individuals with health and disease states.

Link: http://www.hmdb.ca/

Operating Institution(s): Canadian Institutes of Health ResearchCanadian Foundation for InnovationThe Metabolomics Innovation Centre

Supporting Institution(s): Genome CanadaGenome AlbertaGenome British Columbia

Toxin and Toxin Target database

 

The Toxin and Toxin target database.  An extensive database of over 3500 chemical compounds ranging from pollutants, drugs, foods, and pesticides know to be toxic to humans. The database is searchable by the name or category of compound (i.e. Bacterial toxin, plant toxin, airborne pollutant) along with chemical information such as molecular weight, chemical structure, and analytical results. Each compound entry provides descriptions of the chemical, pertinent chemical information, common sources, and biological impacts.

Link: http://www.t3db.ca/

Operating Institute: The Metabolomics Innovation Center 

Supporting Institution(s): Canadian Institutes of Health ResearchCanadian Foundation for Innovation, Genome CanadaGenome AlbertaGenome British Columbia

SuperSweet

SuperSweet is a database of 22,000 carbohydrate and carbohydrate like molecules that have been determined to be perceived by humans as sweet  or have 95% structural similarity to sweet molecules. Each entry has structural, chemical, and physiological information (such as toxicity and relative sweetness) on the compound.

Link: http://bioinformatics.charite.de/sweet/

Operating Institution(s):  Structural Bioinformatics Group at Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Tutorials:

FAQ Page

Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Instagram

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514