Research Guides: Immigration: Statistics & Data

U.S. Immigration Statistics

Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Department of Homeland Security
Department of Homeland Security
Immigration Data and Statistics
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses 1790-2000
Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-Born Population of the United States: 1850-2000
U. S. Immigration Trends - Migration Policy Institute
Open Access website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Their page on U.S. immigration includes tables and graphs of a number of relevant characteristics.
Net Migration Patterns for U. S. Counties Data based on U.S. Census data.
from the University of Wisconsin.
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan research and statistics on a number of topics including immigration, social trends, U.S. politics, religion, the media, technology, and more.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC): Immigration
Open Access website co-sponsored by Syracuse University and others to provide independent and nonpartisan information about U. S. Federal immigration enforcement.

Migrant and Immigrant Population Demographics

Migration Policy Institute - Migration Data Hub
Includes country and comparative data, including many country profiles (with links) and US trends.
Migration & Remittances Data - World Bank
Includes fact book that provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, annual remittances data, bilateral migration matrix, and some downloadable datasets.

Ethnic diversity and immigration from Statistics Canada
United States Census Bureau: Migration/Geographic Mobility
Department of Homeland Security - Immigration Data & Statistics
Topics include naturalization, refugees, apprehensions, deportations, etc. Additional statistical reports are listed under the "Publications" link.
Fifty Most Populous Refugee Camps
Web-based map profiles the 50 most populous settlements administered by the United Nations High Commission for Refugees.
data.unhcr.org
Information sharing portals with data about UNHCR and partners’ response to the current emergencies and other protracted refugee crises.

Other Statistical Resources

CIA World Fact Book
Annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.

Country Studies from the Library of Congress
Each online book contains historical and cultural background information on the country it covers. Formerly known as the Area Handbooks from the Department of the Army.

Human Development Report
Full text of UNDP Human Development Reports, from 1990 to the next to most current year, plus national Human Development Reports and an excellent statistics section on industrialized and developing countries.
MDG Monitor
A one-stop-shop for information on progress towards the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), globally and at the country level. Statistics and project progress information are available by country and by goal.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
United Nations Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) statistical institute website. Includes statistical data sets of world education and literacy indicators, and selected data from the UNESCO Statistical Yearbook.
UN Member States On the Record
Provides direct access to official documents reflecting the views of United Nations Member States by bringing together in one place documents available elsewhere.

Datasets/Microdata

Datasets are collections of numeric data that can be analyzed using specialized software such as Stata, SPSS, or R.

Put some thought into choosing your search terms and consider synonyms or alternative terms. AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine or exclude search terms. Check the subject terms listed on your results for additional words to search.

Most databases have a help link. The help screens will usually explain how to best search for variables.

Migration & Remittances Data - World Bank
Includes fact book that provides a snapshot of migration and remittances for all countries, regions and income groups of the world, annual remittances data, bilateral migration matrix, and some downloadable datasets.
Pew Hispanic Center
A non-partisan research organization to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the United States. Downloadable datasets include the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Politics and Civic Participation, the 2004 National Survey of Latinos: Education, and the 2002 National Survey of Latinos

Eurobarometer
Public opinion polls conducted by the European Commission. Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Immigration Statistics: International

Origins and Destinations of the World's Migrants, from 1990-2017
The figures in this interactive map refer to the total number (or cumulative "stocks") of migrants living around the world as of 1990, 2000, 2010, or 2013. Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, and media analysis
International Migration Statistics-Migration Policy Institute
Free website of the Migration Policy Institute (MPI), an independent, nonpartisan think tank in Washington, DC that provides analysis and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. Explore their pages on international migration, which include tables, graphs, and maps of a number of relevant characteristics.
International Migration - UN
International migration reports, charts, and graphs from the United Nations.
United Nations Resolutions and Reports Related to Migration
International Migration and Development - World Bank
Journal articles, working papers, books, data, and links to additional information sources. From the World Bank
Migration and Remittances - World Bank
International Migration - OECD
Website of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development.