Skip to main content
Library

Nursing Research Guide: Journals

Journals by Title

Go to Journals By Title Search and enter a journal title (e.g., Journal of Clinical Nursing) in the search box to find out if we subscribe to it. When full text is available, notice the date range below each database. You'll find that some databases hold more volumes than others. Click the database with the date range most appropriate for your topic.

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text of an article you need in the BenU Library's databases? No problem! Request it through ILLiad at no cost to you and have it delivered electronically to your ILLiad account usually within 48-72 hours. Learn more on our Interlibrary Loan page.

Tips and Tricks

Use the Advanced Search

By using the Advanced Search feature you can combine concepts to produce a more in-depth search. Advanced search also lets you choose to search a field: Author, Title, Publication Title or Subject.

Search by Phrase

Use quotation marks “ “ to enclose a commonly used phrase. This will force the database to search those terms as one phrase. For example: “Fran Lloyd Wright” will look for the architect. Frank Lloyd Wright will bring up articles that have any of those words in them.

Boolean Operators

Used to connect and define the relationship between your search terms. When searching electronic databases, you can use Boolean operators to either narrow or broaden your record sets. The three Boolean operators are ANDOR and NOT.

The video below will explain the concept of Boolean Logic and how it is used in searching for multiple concepts.

Boolean Logic

Google Scholar Library Links

To see links to BenU Library subscription content in your Google Scholar search results:

  1. Go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links
  2. Search "Benedictine"
  3. Check the boxes
  4. Click Save and you're done!
Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Instagram

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514