Why consult an encyclopedia or dictionary? Scholarly subject encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent starting places for researchers just beginning a project. For one, they can provide contextualization for any number of topics. They can also provide helpful key terms that can be employed in other searches. Fortunately, many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries provide bibliographies for these entries. These bibliographies can be invaluable in pointing you to important resources on your topic.
Finding Books in I-Share
You can search I-Share for books and other materials related to historical research by subject heading. General subject headings in history follow a specific pattern: Place name -- Subdivision -- Time period.
For example:
Illinois - History - Civil War, 1861-1865
Sometimes, however, you may find an alternate pattern, with a specific subject listed first.
For example:
Women social reformers - Illinois - Chicago - History
For more information, consult the Library of Congress Authorities online which contains the subject headings used in I-Share and other library catalogs. Look under the place name or subject to see the appropriate subdivisions and time periods.
You can also browse the general collection by call number:
973.1 Discovery and exploration to 1607
973.2 Colonial period, 1607-1775
973.3 Revolution and confederation, 1775-1789
973.4 Constitutional period, 1789-1809
973.5 Early 19th century, 1809-1845
973.6 Middle 19th century, 1845-1861
973.7 Civil War, 1861-1865
973.8 Later 19th century, 1865-1901
973.9 20th century, 1901-
Can't find the book you need in the BenU Library's collection? No problem! Request it through I-Share at no cost to you. If I-Share doesn't have it, contact us. We can almost always get you what you need. Learn more on our Interlibrary Loan page.
To borrow items from I-Share, follow the steps below:
Lisle: (630) 829-6057
Mesa: (480) 878-7514
Toll Free: (877) 575-6050
Email: libref@ben.edu
