Primary Sources: Education

Indexing and abstracting databases are commonly used to find articles based on empirical studies (based on scientific and experimental results):

There are many good sources for educational tests and measurements available on the web:

• Achieve. A nonprofit organization created by governors and leaders to raise academic standards.
• ACT, Inc. A nonprofit organization that provides services regarding assessment for schools, educational planning, careers and workforce development. The site includes links to abstracts of research reports. ACT also maintains a staffed library and online catalog at its Iowa City office.
• Buros Institute of Mental Measurements. Test locator for reviews of tests in print. See also print version of Mental Measurements Yearbooks and Test-in-Print in the EDP Library reference collection.
• CBEST.
• CRESST. National Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards and Student Testing.
• Early Childhood Longitudinal (ECLS) Program: Instruments and Assessments. U.S. Dept. of Education, Institute of Educational Sciences.
• Educational Testing Service. ETS homepage with links to information on educational assessment, tests, measureents and educational research.
• ETS Online Research Library. Index to materials authored by ETS. Some full-text reports.
• ETS Test Collection. Searchable test names.
• IQ and Psychometric Tests (ebook). Full-text tests for personality, aptitude and intelligence.
• NABPT. National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.
• NAEP. National Assessment of Educational Progress. Reports and data provided by IES, US Department of Education.
• NAEP. National Assessment of Educational Progress Governing Board.
• STAR Test Results. California Standardized Testing and Reporting homepage.
• Tests in Books. University of South Florida Test and Measures Collection-database of tests found in monographs. Search Oskicat, Melvyl or WorldCat for monographs.
• Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences. University of Texas, Arlington. Use Refworks link to connect to UCB books via Oskicat containing full tests.
• Test Bibliographies and Full-text Tests.
• The SAT. PBS Report.
• U.S. Census' Sources for Educational Standards. Links to national and state curriculum standards.
• U.S. Condition of education - annual reports.
• U.S. Nation's Report Card.

Many government agency websites provide access to recent online government documents. See a librarian or our Government Documents Research Guide for help in locating state and federal government publications.