Skip to Main Content
Library

EDUC 2215 Technology for Teachers: Database Search Strategy

How to create a search using keywords and Boolean

Below are listed preferred databases for Education. All Databases as a resource are predominantly collections of primary, scholarly peer-reviewed literature. Teaching chemistry (structure) or Biology (molecular structure) might require searching SciFinder-n and specifically ACS Journals Journal of Chemical Education). Any specialized databases like these please feel free to fix an appointment and I will be glad to walk you through the search process.

See related Research Guides

Primary Sources - This guide explains in detail what constitutes a Primary, Secondary source with examples.

Scholarly vs. Popular Resources: Home

 

Search Strategy

Step 1

TOPIC: Visualization Technologies for Molecular Structure

The bolded terms are key words. Our task now is to convert these keywords into concepts or terms that can be mapped to a search in the database ERIC.

Visualization Technologies: 3D printers, paper cutouts,  

I am now listing the types of technologies. So my first statement will be

Visualization technol* OR 3D printers OR paper cutouts

Step 2:

Under Abstract concepts: It can be molecular structure OR chemical structure OR DNA OR RNA OR enzyme*

The second statement then is:

Abstract concept* OR molecular structure OR chemical structure OR DNA OR RNA OR enzyme*

Step3:

How to combine step 1 and step 2 in some meaningful way.

(Visualization technol* OR 3D printers OR paper cutouts) AND  (Abstract concept* OR molecular structure OR chemical structure OR DNA OR RNA OR enzyme*)

The * is called truncation - singular, plural or variant spelling
 

Boolean operators are:

OR - synonyms and related terms

AND  where we want both of the concepts in some predominant segment of the article like, title, abstract.

STEP 4

Final statement:

(Visualization technol* OR 3D printers OR paper cutouts) AND  (Abstract concept* OR molecular structure OR chemical structure OR DNA OR RNA OR enzyme*)

The parenthesis just tell the database system the order in which the search should take place in the database.

We just did a key word search in ERIC 

 

 

 

SUBJECT SEARCHING 

In some databases like ERIC and PUBMED all the possible keywords with synonyms and related terms are mapped to a preferred heading called SUBJECT HEADING OR in ERIC Thesaurus, and in PUBMED it is called MeSH or Medical Subject Heading.

 

 

 

 

Visualization Thesaurus search Screenshot

 

Image Preview

 

 

 

 

Molecular Structure Thesaurus search Screen Shot

 

Image Preview

 

 

ERIC Thesaurus search Screen Shot

Thumbnail

Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Instagram

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514