Skip to main content
Library

Ed.D. in Educational Leadership: Library & Educational Leadership - Getting Started

Logging in to the Library

You have two main Library accounts:

  • Library Proxy - The Library Proxy gives you off-campus access to Library electronic resources, such as databases and eBooks. When you access a Library electronic resource from off campus, you'll be automatically prompted to sign in.
  • BenSearch - Use BenSearch to request and renew items from the BenU Library and I-Share, which is a group of 90 academic libraries across Illinois.

For login help, please see the Library Login FAQ.

Databases

The Library provides access to journals, magazines, and newspapers. While some are available in print or microform formats, the vast majority are available online through the Library's research databases. You can access Library databases on or off campus.

Find the full list of our databases on our Academic Databases page.

To search multiple databases at the same time, use the search box in the "BenSearch" and/or "EBSCO Articles" tab on the Library homepage. 

BenSearch

Sometimes, the database you're using doesn't provide full text to the article you need. In that case, look for our Find Full Text button. If you see this button while searching a database, use it to discover if the full text of the article is available in a different database that we subscribe to.

Find Full Text button

Watch this short video to learn more about database searching:

Search by Journal

When you know exactly which journal, magazine, or newspaper you're looking for, click Search Journals By Title in the BenSearch tab on the Library homepage. This will bring you to a webpage where you can enter the journal title (not the article title) to find out if the Library subscribes to it and, if so, how to access it.

Watch this short video to learn how search for journals by title:

Books & Videos

Search BenSearch to find books, eBooks, DVDs, streaming videos, CDs, and other materials. Use the search box in the "BenSearch" or "Books & Videos" tab on the Library homepage.

BenSearch

Example:

In this search for the term "human genome," eBooks have an "Available Online" link and print books have a call number, which you can use to find the book on the shelf.

BenSearch

Interlibrary Loan

If the BenU Library doesn't have an article or book you need, you can request a copy at no cost to you through interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan, or ILL for short, is the loaning of items between libraries. Click "Interlibrary Loan" in the menu bar on the Library website to access our two ILL services.

Use I-Share to Request Books

I-Share

  • I-Share is a catalog of materials from more than 90 academic libraries
  • I-Share is available inside BenSearch. You must be signed in to BenSearch in order to place requests. Your BenSearch username is your ben.edu email address and your password is the same password you use to access MyBenU.
  • 3 to 7 day delivery
  • Typical loan period: 28 days (up to 3 renewals)
  • Books not picked up within 2 weeks will be returned
  • More information about I-Share

Use ILLiad to Request Articles

ILLiad

  • ILLiad is an interlibrary loan system primarily for requesting articles
  • Log in using your BenU network credentials
  • 3 to 5 day delivery (delivered electronically)
  • Articles are accessible 5 times or for 15 days
  • More information about ILLiad

Chat with a Librarian

Use our Chat with a Librarian button on the Library website to contact us when you need help finding peer-reviewed sources, using databases effectively, and more.

chat loading...

Librarians are also available by email and virtual appointment. To schedule a virtual appointment, use our Research Consultation Request Form.

Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Instagram

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514