Skip to main content
Library
General Library Research Tutorial
Module 1: Library Orientation

Learning Objectives

  • Find books using the Benedictine University Library Catalog and I-Share Catalog.
  • Find journal articles using research databases.
  • Find a specific journal.
  • Understand when to use interlibrary loan.
  • Access course reserves.

Library Website

The BenU Library website (www.ben.edu/library) is your central portal to library resources, services, help, and general information.

Chat with a Librarian

Use our Chat with a Librarian button on the Library website to contact us when you need help finding sources, using databases, and more.

chat loading...

Librarians are also available by phone, email, and appointment (in-person or virtual), and at the reference desk on the Lisle, Mesa, and Springfield campuses. Drop in during Library hours or schedule an in-person or virtual research consultation using our Research Consultation Request Form.

Logging in to the Library

When you access the Library's online resources (e.g., article databases) from off campus, you'll be prompted to log in using your BenU Login:

Username: Your 7-digit b-number with the "b" (e.g., b1234567)
Password: The same password that you use to access MyBenU


Practice logging in using our Login Tutorial.

Having trouble logging in? Review our Library Login Infographic.

Databases

The Library provides access to journals, magazines, and newspapers. While some are available in print or microform formats, the vast majority are available online through the Library's research databases. You can access Library databases on or off campus.

Find the full list of our databases on our Academic Databases page. To search multiple databases at the same time, use the search box in the "Articles" tab on the Library homepage. Note that the search box does not search all Library databases.

Sometimes, the database you're using doesn't provide full text to the article you need. In that case, look for our Find Full Text button. If you see this button while searching a database, use it to discover if the full text of the article is available in a different database that we subscribe to.

Find Full Text button

Watch the video below to learn more about research databases.

Source: USFLibraries. “What is a Database? Tips and techniques for effective searching.” Online video clip. YouTube. YouTube, 16 January 2018. Web. 23 May 2017.

Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to find books, eBooks, DVDs, streaming videos, CDs, and other materials. Use the search box in the "Books & Videos" tab on the Library homepage.

Library Catalog search box

Example:

A search for the word "Monet" returned 108 results. Each result lists the item's call number, location, and format. In this case, the item is a print book. If it were an eBook, you would also see a link to the resource.

Library Catalog

Search by Journal

When you know exactly which journal, magazine, or newspaper you're looking for, use the search box in the "Journals By Title" tab on the Library homepage to find out if the Library subscribes it. Enter the journal, magazine, or newspaper title, not the article title.

For a quick demo, watch this short video.

Interlibrary Loan

If the BenU Library doesn't have an article or book you need, you can request a copy at no cost to you through interlibrary loan. Interlibrary loan, or ILL for short, is the loaning of items between libraries. Click "Interlibrary Loan" in the menu bar on the Library website to access our two ILL services.

Request Books

I-Share

  • I-Share is a catalog of materials from more than 80 academic libraries
  • You must create an I-Share account to place a request
  • 3 to 7 day delivery
  • Typical loan period: 28 days (up to 3 renewals)
  • Books not picked up within 2 weeks will be returned
  • More information about I-Share

Request Articles

ILLiad

  • ILLiad is an interlibrary loan system primarily for requesting articles
  • Log in using your BenU network credentials
  • 3 to 5 day delivery (delivered electronically)
  • Articles are accessible 5 times or for 15 days
  • More information about ILLiad

Course Reserves

Some professors place course readings on reserve. To access Course Reserves, click "Reserves" (the book icon) on the Library homepage. Then, select your course from the "Course" dropdown menu and click "Find."

quicklink icons

Reserves page

Printers, Scanners, & Computers

Printers

  • 1 color printer on Kindlon 3rd Floor
  • 1 b&w printer on Kindlon 3rd Floor
  • 1 b&w printer on Kindlon 2nd Floor
  • 1 b&w printer in Kindlon 030

Students are allotted $35.00 per semester for printing, which equates to 500 black and white double-sided pages. When you print to a campus printer, the cost of your print job is automatically deducted from your PaperCut account. If you exceed the $35 allotment, you can add money to your account.

Printing Rates:

  • Black and white, double-sided - $0.07
  • Black and white, single-sided - $0.10
  • Color, double-sided - $0.20
  • Color, single-sided - $0.25

Scanners

  • Scanner/copiers on all 4 printers in the Library
  • 1 Simple Scan Station on Kindlon Lower Level near the Circulation Desk
  • 1 standard flatbed scanner in Kindlon 030

Computers

  • 46 computers on Kindlon 3rd Floor
  • 12 computers in Kindlon 232 - Available unless the lab is reserved
  • 8 computers in Kindlon 030

The Library in Gillett Hall has:

  • 1 b&w printer
  • 1 scanner/copier
  • 16 computers

Printing is free for current BenU students.

The Becker Library has:

  • 1 b&w printer/scanner
  • 14 computers

Printing is free for current BenU students.

The Library does not have a color printer. Please consult with the librarian on duty to arrange for color printing.

Loading ...

Module 1 Quiz

compass

Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Instagram

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514