Skip to main content
Constitution of the United States
United States Constitution

Constitution Day

In 2004, the U.S. Congress established September 17 as Constitution Day, to commemorate and celebrate the and signing of the Constitution on September 17, 1787, at the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia.

One provision of the new law was that colleges and universities around the country should offer educational resources to better understand the Constitution as a founding document of the U.S. political and social order.

The work of many minds, the Constitution of the United States stands as a model of cooperative statesmanship and the art of compromise.

Did you know that...

The Constitution of the United States

  • On May 25,1787 the Constitutional Convention opened at the Pennsylvania State House in Philadelphia, with a seven-state quorum to discuss revising the Articles of Confederation.
  • All 13 original states with the exception of Rhode Island were represented.
  • It took 100 days to frame the Constitution; it was signed on September 17, 1787.
  • At 81, Benjamin Franklin was the oldest and at 26, Jonathan Dayton, the youngest to sign the Constitution.
  • George Washington and James Madison were the only presidents to sign the Constitution.
  • All 12 state delegations approved the Constitution, 39 delegates signed it of the 42 present, and the Convention formally adjourned.
  • The Constitution contains 4,543 words, including the signatures, and has four sheets, 28-3/4" x 23-5/8". It contains 7,591 words, including the 27 amendments.
  • The word “democracy” never appears in the Constitution.
  • Delaware ratified the Constitution first on December 7, 1787 and Rhode Island last on May 29, 1790.

Facebook Instagram


Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050


Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514


Becker Library
1500 N. Fifth St.
Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 718-5011