- Background Notes
Issued by the US Department of State, Bureau of Public Affairs, these electronically accessible publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states and other territories. The Background Notes are updated and/or revised as they are received from the Department's regional bureaus and are added to the database of this Department of State website.
- BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archives.
- Countries of the World
Each country profile provides a short description of: geography, maps, flag, history, current ruler, area, populations, capital, largest cities, languages, ethnicity/race, religion, literacy rate, economy, and government.
- Countries of the World - 28 years of CIA World Fact Books
Information from the CIA World Fact Book.
- Country Analysis Briefs
Briefs on energy issues for selected countries and with environmental information for selected countries. These reports from the United States Energy Information Administration examine the energy situation in OPEC (Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries) on-OPEC countries in the politically volatile Persian Gulf region, major non-OPEC oil exporters, and other countries or regions . The publications concentrate on energy outlook and supply but also include overview of each country, recent
- Country Indicators for Foreign Policy
The CIFP database includes measures of domestic armed conflict, governance and political instability, militarization, religious and ethnic diversity, demographic stress, economic performance, human development, environmental stress, and international linkages, in the form of over one hundred performance indicators for 196 countries, spanning fifteen years (1985 to 2000) for most indicators. These indicators are drawn from a variety of open sources.
- EuroStat Country Profiles
An easy way to look at all major statistical indicators for the European Union (13, 15, 25, or 27 countries) or each individual country, and to do comparisons. The data generally goes back 10 years, and can be displayed as a table, graph, or on a map.
- Europa World
Provides basic economic, political, geographic and background data for every country in the world, along with a mechanism for comparing statistics across countries. Includes directories of government agencies and officials, political parties, media organizations, business associations and other similar groups for each country.
- Foreign Governments
A comprehensive resource maintained by Northwestern University Library. It provides links to the official government web sites, down to department or ministry level.
- Human Rights
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
- Independent States in the World
In 2008, there is a list of 194 States (by short name, long name, country code, and (name of) capital city.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
The Library of Congress Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The series examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
- World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
- World Factbook
This annual publication of the Central Intelligence Agency provides profiles of countries throughout the world. Each country profile begins with a brief historical background and includes information about geography, population, government, economy, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. -- CIA.
- World Integrated Trade Solution
WITS is a trade software tool giving access to bilateral trade between countries based on various product classifications, product details, years, and trade flows. It also contains tariff and non-tariff measures as well as analysis tool to calculate effects of tariff reductions. In addition, users have access to two visualization tools.
- World leaders -- CIA
CIA listing of global world leaders.
