Nursing Research Guide: Quick Start Guide

We're here to help! Talk with us virtually during Library hours.

• Chat: Click the green "Chat with a Librarian" button
• Email: libref@ben.edu
• Schedule a Virtual Research Consultation with a Librarian

When you access a library database from off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter your BenU Login.

OPTION 1: Search Multiple (But Not All!) Databases at Once

1. Go to the Library homepage.
2. In the EBSCO Articles tab, use the search box to search across multiple databases.

Tip: To see which databases are included in this search option, see What Am I Searching?

OPTION 2: Search Specific Databases Individually​ (CINAHL, PubMed, Ovid, etc.)

1. Go to the Library homepage.
2. Click Databases in the blue menu bar.
3. In the All Subjects dropdown menu, select Health and Medicine.
4. Select a database, such as CINAHL.

Tip: If you're looking for primary sources authored by a specific nursing theorist, enter the theorist's name in the database search box and choose the field AU author.

CINAHL

CINAHL contains nursing, allied health, and biomedical journals. We often recommend starting your nursing research in CINAHL. You can easily limit your search to articles written by a nurse by checking the box "Any Author Is Nurse" OR "First author is nurse" in the Advanced Search mode.

PubMed

PubMed is the gold standard for health science research. This database contains citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PUBMED is a  "CONTROLLED VOCABULARY"  database. The National Library of Medicine which publishes this database maps all natural language search terms to preferred search terms called Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). Tracking the MeSH headings sometimes is hard, so go to MEDLINE in our Databases A-Z  and  MEDLINE will let you do natural language searches. Click on the records that fits your information need best and look at MeSH heading listed. Recycle your search using the preferred MeSH heading..

Ovid

Ovid contains journals on nursing, health-related, and life sciences.

SciFinder

This database includes MEDLINE and CAB (Chemical Abstracts). So contains a lot of pharmaceutical, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, biochemistry,  literature. Set up an appointment with a librarian to help you search this database.