Ancient Athenian Women : A Look at Their Lives /Moya K. Mason
Ancient Greek Civilizations. A virtual exhibit by the Minnesota State University EMuseum. Includes sections on the Women of Athens and the Women of Sparta. Articles written by Jennifer Taylor, 1998.
Ancient Roman Women : A Look at Their Lives / Moya K. Mason
Annotated Bibliography of Women in Classical Mythology / Moya K. Mason
Bibliography on Women in Byzantium : Courtesy of Dumbarton Oaks.
Diotima : Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World : Interdisciplinary research tool for issues of gender in the classical world. Searchable for on-line book reviews, articles, images, and related databases. Provides links to related on-line resources.
Family Values in Ancient Rome by Richard Saller, University of Chicago
Internet Women's History Sourcebook : How are historians to remedy the silence about women in many traditional accounts of history? This question has received a number of distinct answers....The first solution was to locate the great women of the past, following the lead of much popular historiography that focuses on "great men". The problem here is that just as the "great men" approach to history sidelines and ignores the lives of the mass of people, focusing on great women merely replicates the exclusionary historical approaches of the past....The next solution was to examine and expose the history of oppression of women. This approach had the merit of addressing the life histories of the mass of women, but, since it has proved to be possible to find some degree of oppression everywhere, it tended to make women merely subjects of forces that they could not control. On the other hand, historians' focus on oppression revealed that investigating the structures of women's lives was crucial....In recent years, while not denying the history of oppression, historians have begun to focus on the agency of women. All human beings are subject to some degree of social forces that limit freedom, but within those limits people are able to exercise greater or lesser degrees of control over their own lives. This insight applies equally to women even in oppressive societies....These various approaches to the history of women are not exclusive. This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas. This collection includes Ancient Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, and Rome, plus a whole lot more. Paul Halsell, Fordham University, November 1998, last revised April 16, 2007.
Midwives and Birth in Ancient Rome
The Role of Women : Women in general faced restrictions and discrimination, although there were some who managed to assert their individuality. A portion of Antony Kamm's The Romans web site created to supplement his book of the same title.
Roman Women : Following the Clues : Women - were they any different in Roman times from how they are today? Sort truth from fiction to decide if things have changed since women were first depicted as loving or resentful wives, daughters, servants and workers. Article by Suzanne Dixon, November 5, 2009 sponsored by BBC.
Spartan Women Essay from Sparta Reconsidered.
Spartan Women in the Spotlight (Spartan Women book review from HNet.)
Villa of the Mysteries in Pompeii
Women and Politics in Ancient Rome (book review from Bryn Mawr Classical Review)
Women in Classical Greece : courtesy of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Women in the Ancient World : The Status, Role and Daily Life of Women in the Ancient Civilizations of Egypt, Rome, Athens, Israel and Babylonia
James C. Thompson graduated from University of Toronto in 1961 and earned a Master?s degree in education from Rutgers in 1969. He taught high school history for 32 years in Waterloo County, Ontario and is the author of the acclaimed web site, womenintheancientworld.com. Web page last revised'November 2005.
Women's Life in Greece & Rome : Mary Lefkowitz & Maureen Fant post texts illustrating the social role of women in antiquity including a broad range of religious contexts, such as the bacchanalia, the vestal virgins, & the martyrdom of the philosopher Hypatia.
Lisle: (630) 829-6057
Mesa: (480) 878-7514
Toll Free: (877) 575-6050
Email: libref@ben.edu
