Skip to main content
Library
Exercise and Sports Studies Research Guide
Databases

Recommended Databases

Additional Databases

Link Google Scholar to Library Databases

To see links to BenU Library subscription content in your Google Scholar search results:

  1. Go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links
  2. Search "Benedictine"
  3. Check the boxes
  4. Click Save and you're done!

Tips and Tricks

Stick to Databases

By searching through the library’s subscription databases and limiting your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed journals, you can be confident that all the materials retrieved will be legitimate sources for your research paper.

Choosing a Database

The Benedictine Library groups databases by broad subject heading. In addition, each database has a description of the subjects covered. Every database has HELP pages if you need them.

Database Coverage and Interlibrary Loan

  • Full Text: Database offers the complete article
  • Partial Full Text: Has some full text and some abstracts
  • Abstracts only: Contains abstracts only. However articles may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
  • Find Full Text Button: Allows you to link to article from another database. For example: If Ovid has the abstract of the article and Science Direct carries the Full Text, clicking on the Find Full Text button will provide you the bridge link to the Science Direct Database.

Find Journals by Title

Enter a journal title (e.g., Journal of Clinical Nursing) in the search box below to find out if we subscribe to it. If we do, you will see one or more databases listed under Find Full Text. Notice the date range next to each database. You'll find that some databases hold more volumes than others. Click the database with the date range most appropriate for your topic. From there, you can start searching for articles in the journal.

 


Browse our journal holdings by subject

Request Articles via Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text of an article you need in the BenU Library's databases? No problem! Request it through ILLiad at no cost to you and have it delivered electronically to your ILLiad account. Learn more on our Interlibrary Loan page.

Science Outreach Librarian

Cynthia Kremer
Contact:
KN 313
(630) 829-6054

Ask a Librarian

chat loading...

Lisle: (630) 829-6057
Mesa: (480) 878-7514
Springfield: (217) 718-5011
Toll Free: (877) 575-6050
Text: (630) 884-4542
Email: libref@ben.edu
Make an Appointment
Hours

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Pinterest

Related Guides

Library
BENEDICTINE UNIVERSITY

Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest YouTube

Lisle

Kindlon Hall - Lower Level, 2nd Floor, & 3rd Floor
5700 College Rd.
Lisle, IL 60532
(630) 829-6050

Mesa

Gillett Hall - 1st Floor
225 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85201
(480) 878-7514

Springfield

Becker Library
1500 N. Fifth St.
Springfield, IL 62702
(217) 718-5011