Research Guides: Art History Research Guide: Websites

Museums and Galleries

Art Institute of Chicago: Collections
Balboa Park Commons
Access to digitized photos and artifacts from Mingei International Museum, Museum of Photographic Arts, San Diego Air & Space Museum, San Diego Museum of Man, San Diego Natural History Museum, The San Diego Museum of Art, and Timken Museum of Art.
George Eastman House
International Center of Photography: eMuseum
Los Angeles Country Museum of Art: Collections Online
Metropolitan Museum of Art: Collection Database
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: Collections
Museum of Modern Art: Online Collection
National Gallery of Art: Online Collection

National Gallery of Art Videos & Podcasts

This audio and video series offers entertaining, informative discussions about the arts and events at the National Gallery of Art. The series includes programs from Art talk, conversations between top cultural figures; Backstory, behind the scenes of a world-class museum with host Barbara Tempchin and guests; and NOTABLE LECTURES, special Gallery talks by well-known curators, historians, and authors. Stay up to date with video podcasts from the National Gallery of Art, which include documentary excerpts, lectures, and other films about the Gallery's history, exhibitions, and collections.

Art History Websites

Artcyclopedia
Search by movement, medium, subject, nationality, artist's name, and more
Artfacts.net
An international online gallery and museum guide for modern contemporary and emerging art
Archives of American Art
(The Smithsonian Institution) thirteen million documents about American visual arts from the 18th century to the 1950s and beyond can be found here. This is a great resource for starting research on American art history.
Art History Research Center
A well organized and easy-to-use site from Concordia University.
Art History Resources on the Web
From Christopher L. C. E. Witcombe of Sweet Briar College, this is an useful portal to an exhaustive list of resources handily indexed by region and time period.
Best Art History Websites
Best Art History Websites
more...less...
Librarian's Internet Index of Websites you can trust!
Mother of All Art and Art History Links Pages
Courtesy of the School of Art & Design at the University of Michigan.
Timeline of Art in the Metropolitan Museum of Art
more...less...
Thematic Essays and articles about artists, periods and geographical regions, complete with images and further bibliography. "Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection."

Apps for Art

Art Institute of Chicago
Maps, guides and apps
Art iPad Apps
British Museum, London
includes photos and descriptions of important works in its collection. Audio clips describe the Museum's 10 key works such as the Rosetta Stone, the Parthenon Sculptures, the Mexican Mosaics and the Benin Bronzes.
The Getty
MoMa
Explore the collection and view exhibits
Musee du Louvre, Paris
Features over 100 of the Museum's beloved masterpieces such as the famous Mona Lisa. With each artwork, several close-up photographic details and a brief text are included. An interior map also shows where the artwork is installed, thus making your museum visit a breeze.
The Hermitage, St. Petersburg
National Gallery, London

Associations

Ask a Librarian

chat loading...

Lisle: (630) 829-6057
Mesa: (480) 878-7514
Toll Free: (877) 575-6050
Email: libref@ben.edu

Book a Research Consultation
Library Hours

Related Guides

Primary Sources
by Sarah Kurpiel Last Updated Sep 25, 2023 98 views this year
Public Domain & Creative Commons Media
by Sarah Kurpiel Last Updated Jan 19, 2023 269 views this year