Research Guides: Government Publications in the Sciences: Health

Databases

Medline (via PubMed)
Massive medical database with references dating back to 1966. Some abstracts and some links are available.
more...less...
PubMed Central offers this archive of free life science journal literature from the National Institutes of Health.
Medline Plus Health Information
Medline-connected site specializing in information for laypersons
more...less...
Browse for health information by general topic (e.g., Circulation, Digestive System) or alphabetically by condition, disease or other keyword (e.g. Diabetes, Food allergies, etc.). The site provides links to research articles in Medline as well as full-text information from specialized professional organizations. There are also links to medical dictionaries, encyclopedias and directories of doctors, hospitals and organizations.
CARDS (Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements)
Database of federally funded research projects pertaining to dietary supplements from various agencies
CDC (Centers for Disease Control) Wonder
Access to numeric and text databases concerned with health, diseases and mortality. Main CDC page has lots of other health-related information (including information for travelers) and collections of links.
Clinical Trials
Portal to clinical trials information, including a searchable database of trials, from the National Cancer Institute
Clinicaltrials.gov
A searchable database of over 4000 federal and private current medical studies. Information given for each study includes purpose, sponsor, eligibility criteria and contact information.
Dietary Supplements Labels Database.
Information about more than 4,000 specific products and substances, including references to any studies.
more...less...
The database facilitates comparisons of various products by listing which ones contain each substance.
Drugs@FDA (Food & Drug Administration)
Searchable and browsable directory of currently approved and discontinued drugs, both brand name and generic
Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Searchable site contains a wealth of technical and consumer information on drugs, medical devices, and nutrition.
Food Composition Data
The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR), based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
Household Products Database
This database gives nformation on the chemical composition and potential health effects of thousands of consumer brands and is operated by the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine. It's searchable and browsable by product or ingredient, and the information given for each item includes a manufacturer contact and links to more information about the substance in the NLM system.
HHS Gateway to Data and Statistics
Search tool for finding health data, a metadirectory of resources, and shortcuts to major data systems and research literature
more...less...
The Guide to HHS Surveys and Data Resources is a compilation of information about all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). These surveys and data collection systems allow us to monitor and track the health of the population and the functioning of the health care system. The Guide is intended for policymakers, administrators, researchers, and the public as a reference document on data and statistical resources within HHS. The surveys and data systems outlined below collect a wide range of health and health care information. This includes health status and behaviors; health care access; resources, utilization and expenditures; insurance coverage and financing; functional status as well as social determinants of health and quality of care.
Medicare
Databases on various subjects related to Medicare such as insurance policies, formularies, nursing homes, forms, etc. Look under "Resource Locator"
National Library of Medicine LOCATORPlus
Catalog of the world's largest medical library includes references to books, journals, and audiovisual materials; items with electronic equivalents may be linked
more...less...
The Library also provides this listing of their Databases and Electronic Resources.
National Prevention Information Network
Publications and service information on HIV, sexually transmitted diseases generally, tuberculosis, etc., all from a prevention perspective
more...less...
This site replaces the older AIDS Clearinghouse and broadened its focus.
National Rehabilitation Information Center
Database of document summaries, reports, programs, and other resources
National Toxicology Program
An interagency program which evaluates substances of public health concern by developing and applying tools of modern toxicology and molecular biology. Testing information is provided, as well as links to research reports and public health information.
NIH Research Tools
View online journals, books, databases and other resources available through the National Institutes of Health
OSHA (Occupational Safety & Health Adm.) Laws & Regulations
Access to standards and regulations focused on the 1970 Occupational Safety and Health Act and its amendments
Risk-Screening Environmental Indicators (RSEI)
A screening tool that uses information from the Toxics Release Inventory to analyze risk factors related to public health
more...less...
Aids to use include a glossary, FAQ, methodology documentation, and "How to Use--and not use--RSEI".
State of Aging and Health in America
Data from periodic CDC reports by indicators (status, behaviors, screening, etc.) or geographic areas
more...less...
Similar, related tools:
State of Mental Health & Aging in America
Promoting Preventive Services for Adults 50-64
Surgeon General Reports
Not only the official reports, but also conference/workshop reports and proceedings from the National Library of Medicine
more...less...
Access is by broad topic, alphabetically by title, or by type of material. There is also a search feature.
What's in the Food You Eat Search Tool
Detailed nutrient information on more than 13,000 foods
more...less...
Database may be searched online or downloaded.
Where to Write for Vital Records
Directory of current contact information for state agencies which maintain vital records
WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System
Customizable reports of data related to fatal and non-fatal injuries, as well as limited data on violent deaths
more...less...
Service provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Illinois Documents

Illinois Department of Public Health
Find documents and press releases from the IDPH, including health statistics for the state.
Illinois State Documents

FDA Consumer Health updates

Health Care and Insurance News

From the Census Bureau:

Government Publications in the Sciences: Health

Ask a Librarian

Databases

Illinois Documents

FDA Consumer Health updates

Health Care and Insurance News

FDA Food Safety news